What Are the Penalties for 1st Degree Crimes in New Jersey?
Wall New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorneys serving Monmouth County, Ocean County, Middlesex County and all surrounding NJ areas.
First-degree criminal offenses: 10 to 20 years in prison and a fine up to $200,000. Some crimes, for example, first–degree murder, may carry a sentence of 30 years in prison (NJSA 2C:11-3 Murder).
Examples of First-Degree Crimes
- Aggravated Sexual Assault
- Aggravated Manslaughter
- Aggravated Manslaughter by Eluding
- Armed Robbery
- Drug Distribution (large quantities)
- Felony Murder
- First–Degree Murder (murder may also be charged as a 2nd-degree crime)
- Vehicular Homicide/Vehicular Manslaughter (may also be charged as a 2nd-degree crime)
- Any violent crimes conviction of the 1stdegree
For the Best First-Degree Crime Defense – Hire the Best Criminal Defense Trial Law Firm in New Jersey
Attorneys at our criminal defense law firm have handled hundreds of trials and more than 100 felony jury trials and have experience defending individuals against serious criminal cases involving municipal, state and federal crimes.
We operate on a “trial first, negotiations second,” premise.
The stakes in every criminal case are high. No matter how the evidence seems to stack up, we believe there is ALWAYS a defense worth pursuing. You owe it to yourself to contact our firm today for a free consultation at 732-303-7857 . Our clients can reach us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week via our office.
We Can Help 24/7
Free case review. Call 732-303-7857 or send us a message now.