What Are the Criminal Penalties for Criminal Mischief in New Jersey?
Wall New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorneys serving Monmouth County, Ocean County, Middlesex County and all surrounding NJ areas.
The degree of the crime determines the potential consequences you could be facing if convicted on charges of criminal mischief. For a first-time offense, you may be charged with:
- What is a Disorderly Person Offense? If property damage is valued at less than $500, you can be charged with a disorderly person offense and face a up to six months in county jail.
- What is Criminal Mischief 3rd Degree? Potential prison sentence of 3 to 5 years.
- What is Criminal Mischief 4th Degree? Potential prison sentence of up to 18 months.
If you have been charged with Criminal Mischief in New Jersey, take it seriously and contact our criminal defense attorneys today for a free consultation by calling 732-303-7857.
Stiff Penalties for Subsequent Criminal Mischief Convictions in New Jersey
If you are charged with a second or subsequent offense involving criminal mischief, the penalties are even harsher. New Jersey law states:
2C:14-6. Sentencing. If a person is convicted of a second or subsequent offense under sections 2C:14-2 or 2C:14-3a., the sentence imposed under those sections for the second or subsequent offense shall, unless the person is sentenced pursuant to the provisions of 2C:43-7, include a fixed minimum sentence of not less than 5 years during which the defendant shall not be eligible for parole. The court may not suspend or make any other non-custodial disposition of any person sentenced as a second or subsequent offender pursuant to this section. For the purpose of this section an offense is considered a second or subsequent offense, if the actor has at any time been convicted under sections 2C:14-2 or 2C:14-3a. or under any similar statute of the United States, this state, or any other state for an offense that is substantially equivalent to sections 2C:14-2 or 2C:14-3a.
Criminal Mischief is a Serious Offense in New Jersey. If convicted, you could be sent to prison.
Criminal mischief in New Jersey is considered a Property Crime and usually involves vandalism, trespassing, or property damage. The value of the property determines the degree of the charges. Criminal Mischief may not sound like a serious crime, but if convicted, you could be facing stiff penalties under New Jersey Law.
If you have been charged with criminal mischief in New Jersey, contact our NJ Criminal Mischief defense trial lawyers today for a free consultation by completing the form on this page or calling us at 732-303-7857. We may be able to get your charges dismissed or reduced and help you avoid jail time.
We Can Help 24/7
Free case review. Call 732-303-7857 or send us a message now.