We offer free consultation. Call us Today at 732 303 7857
New Jersey First Offense DWI Penalties
Wall New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorneys serving Monmouth County, Ocean County, Middlesex County and all surrounding NJ areas.
In the state of New Jersey, an individual who is convicted of a first offense DWI will face significant penalties. For a first offense, if the individual’s blood alcohol concentration is .08% or higher but less than .10%, or the individual is deemed to be under the influence of an intoxicated liquor, or the individual permits another individual who is under the influence of an intoxicating liquor will face a fine of not less than $250.00 but not more than $400.00, a period of between 12 hours and 48 hours spent in a program established by the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center, a potential term of imprisonment of up to 30 days and a period of license suspension of three months.
If an individual’s blood alcohol concentration is .10% or higher, or the individual operates his or her motor vehicle while under the influence of a habit producing, hallucinogenic or narcotic drug, or the individual permits another individual to operate his or her vehicle who has a blood alcohol concentration of .10% or higher or is under the influence of a habit producing, hallucinogenic or narcotic drug will be subject to a fine of not less than $300.00 but not more than $500.00, will also be subject to a period of between 12 hours and 48 hours spent in a program established by the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center, a potential term of incarceration in the county jail of up to 30 days and a period of license suspension between seven months and one year. In addition, an individual who is convicted of a first offense DWI may also be subject to the ignition interlock device depending upon the Judge’s discretion and the individual blood alcohol content. If the individual has a blood alcohol content of .14% or more, the Judge will be required to order the installation of the ignition interlock device.
If you or someone you know has been charged with a first offense DWI, call our New Jersey DWI Defense Attorneys
at any time. Our lawyers have successfully handled DWI matters throughout the state of New Jersey and have had many first offense DWI charges either downgraded or dismissed. If you would like a free consultation with one of our attorneys, call us today. Our attorneys get results