Monmouth County Marijuana Possession Attorney
You don’t want a marijuana conviction on your criminal record. You may be able to prevent this from happening by working with a Monmouth County marijuana lawyer.
Marijuana possession can be a confusing thing in Monmouth County and the rest of New Jersey. While state law allows marijuana to be used for medicinal reasons if you have a prescription, recreational use is still illegal.
While this might change at a future date, possession can get you into big trouble with the law today. You don’t need a criminal record for something that might be legal a few years down the road, which makes it necessary to fight the drug charges against you now.
By working with a Monmouth County marijuana possession lawyer from Clark, Clark & Noonan, LLC, you’ll have the best chance of clearing your name and seeing your charge dismissed.
Marijuana Possession in New Jersey
The tiniest amount of marijuana is enough to get charged with possession. Seeds and stems are all the police need—it doesn’t need to be the portion that gets smoked. Even marijuana residue on a bong or pipe is enough to meet the standard for possession.
Most marijuana possession charges involve less than fifty grams of weed. This qualifies as a disorderly person charge, which is the equivalent of a misdemeanor in other states. Conviction will result in the following:
- Up to six months in jail
- Up to a $1,000 fine
Indictable Marijuana Possession Offenses
If you were alleged to have fifty grams or more of marijuana in your possession, however, it becomes an indictable offense. This is New Jersey’s equivalent of a felony charge.
Most felony marijuana possession charges will likely be fourth-degree offenses, which have the following legal penalties:
- Up to eighteen months in prison
- Up to a $10,000 fine
However, if the amount of weed was large enough, marijuana possession can become a first-degree offense. While rare, this has the possibility of either a life sentence or between ten and thirty years in prison, with the addition of up to a $200,000 fine.
The Strongest Defense Against Your Possession Charge
Your Monmouth County marijuana possession lawyer will help you build the strongest defense against your marijuana offense.
In many cases, marijuana is discovered through an unlawful search and seizure. If the officers who arrested you didn’t have a warrant, or if we can prove that they didn’t have probable cause, it might be possible to get the marijuana that was seized declared inadmissible as evidence.
Otherwise, the defense employed will be determined by the circumstances of your arrest. For example, it might be possible to demonstrate that while the weed was in your proximity, it wasn’t actually yours.
Connect with a Monmouth County Marijuana Attorney
Clark, Clark & Noonan, LLC has in-depth, practical experience handling drug-related offenses such as marijuana possession. You can count on us to never give up on your case and to never back down—no matter how strong the case against you might be.
To get started building your defense, simply schedule a free, confidential consultation with a Monmouth County marijuana possession lawyer. Just complete the contact form below or call 732-303-7857.