First Offense DUI Lawyer in New Jersey

It's crucial to fight your first-offense DUI now.

Subsequent DWI offenses will only make matters worse. Call Clark, Clark & Noonan, LLC Today.

732-303-7857 We’ll review your case at no charge to you.

Penalties for a First DWI Offense in New Jersey

In the state of New Jersey, an individual who is convicted of a first offense DWI will face significant penalties. For a first offense DWI, if the individual’s blood alcohol concentration is .08% or higher but less than .10%, or the individual is deemed to be under the influence of an intoxicating liquor, or the individual permits another individual who is under the influence of an intoxicating liquor will:

  • face a fine of not less than $250.00 but not more than $400.00,
  • a period of between 12 hours and 48 hours spent in a program established by the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center,
  • a potential term of imprisonment of up to 30 days,
  • and a period of license suspension of three months

If an individual’s blood alcohol concentration is .10% or higher, or the individual operates his or her motor vehicle while under the influence of a habit producing, hallucinogenic or narcotic drug, or the individual permits another individual to operate his or her vehicle who has a blood alcohol concentration of .10% or higher or is under the influence of a habit producing, hallucinogenic or narcotic drug will:

  • be subject to a fine of not less than $300.00 but not more than $500.00,
  • will also be subject to a period of between 12 hours and 48 hours spent in a program established by the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center,
  • a potential term of incarceration in the county jail of up to 30 days
  • and a period of license suspension between seven months and one year

In addition, an individual who is convicted of a first offense DWI in New Jersey may also be subject to the ignition interlock device depending upon the Judge’s discretion and the individual blood alcohol content. If the individual has a blood alcohol content of .14% or more, the Judge will be required to order the installation of the ignition interlock device.

Penalties for second offense DWIs and subsequent DWI charges differ from the penalties for a first offense DWI.

Our First Offense DUI Lawyers Can Help

If you or someone you know has been charged with a first offense DWI, call our New Jersey DWI defense attorneys at any time. Our defense attorneys have successfully handled DWI matters throughout the state of New Jersey and have had many first offense DWI charges either downgraded or dismissed. If you would like a free consultation with one of our attorneys, call us today. Our attorneys get results.