What Are the Penalties for Second Degree Crimes in New Jersey
Wall New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorneys serving Monmouth County, Ocean County, Middlesex County and all surrounding NJ areas.
Second-degree criminal offenses: If you are convicted of a second-degree crime in New Jersey, you could be sentenced to 5 to 10 years in prison and face a fine of up to $150,000.
Examples of Second-Degree Crimes
- Aggravated assault (may be charged as 4th, 3rd, or 2nd-degree crime)
- Certain types of sexual assaults
- Drug distribution in smaller quantities
- Manslaughter (aggravated manslaughter is a crime of the 1st degree)
- Robbery (without a weapon; armed robbery is a more serious offense)
- Property theft crimes (if the property value is $75,000 or more)
- Second-degree criminal homicide
- Second-degree murder (murder may also be charged as a 1st-degree crime)
- Shoplifting (if full retail value is $75,000 or more)
- Vehicular Homicide/Vehicular Manslaughter (may also be charged as a 1st-degree crime)
- Any other criminal conviction of the 2nd degree
For An Aggressive Legal Defense Against Second-Degree Charges, Hire a Criminal Defense Lawyer with Trial Experience
Attorneys at our New Jersey criminal defense law firm have handled hundreds of trials and more than 100 felony jury trials and have experience defending individuals against serious criminal cases involving municipal, state and federal crimes.
We operate on a “trial first, negotiations second,” premise.
The stakes in every criminal case are high. No matter how the evidence seems to stack up, we believe there is a defense worth pursuing. You owe it to yourself to contact our firm today using the form on this page or calling 732-303-7857 for a free consultation. Our clients can reach us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week via our office.
We Can Help 24/7
Free case review. Call 732-303-7857 or send us a message now.