Monmouth County Defense Lawyer
If you’ve been charged with a sex crime, it’s not an exaggeration to say that everything in your life is at stake. A conviction for a sex offense can mean losing your freedom, reputation, finances, and future opportunities and wellbeing.
Criminal sex offenses carry some of the most pervasive negative repercussions possible, and they can endure long after you’ve served your sentence and paid the fine. If this is your situation, you have to do everything legally possible to fight for your acquittal or the dismissal of the charges against you.
At Clark & Clark, LLC, we don’t judge you by the crime you’ve been charged with. We know you’re innocent until proven guilty, and we won’t give up on fighting for your rights. By working with a Monmouth County sex crime lawyer from our firm, you’ll receive the best defense possible.
Sex crimes are easily some of the most stigmatized. Simply being arrested and charged can ruin your reputation, especially if your accuser was a minor or lack of consent is alleged. The only way to restore your reputation is to clear your name.
Unfortunately, in some cases, it can be deceptively easy to commit a sex crime and not realize it. It might be that the other person consented but lied about his or her age, for example. It might also be that your accuser isn’t being honest about what happened.
In many cases, extenuating factors such as these can’t be used as the foundation for your defense and additional evidence will be required. However, it’s possible that they could be used to introduce reasonable doubt, but everything will depend on the exact charge and the unique circumstances of your case.
Our firm has significant experience handling these cases, and these are just a few of the sex offenses that your sex crime lawyer will have experience with:
- Rape, including statutory rape and date rape
- Sexual assault and aggravated sexual assault
- Prostitution, both soliciting and engaging in
- Indecent exposure
- Criminal sexual contact
- Endangering the welfare of a child, through either sexual conduct or child pornography
New Jersey may not recognize crimes as felonies and misdemeanors, but it does use a comparable system of disorderly person charges and indictable offenses. A conviction for an indictable offense is equivalent to becoming a convicted felon.
While a few sex offenses qualify as disorderly person charges (misdemeanors), most are going to be indictable offenses. This is all but guaranteed if your case involves a minor or lack of consent.
This also means that the legal punishments for many sex crimes are some of the harshest available under New Jersey state law. Because sex offenses are so stigmatized, the prosecution will likely attempt to “make an example” of you and pursue the maximum penalty available.
A Monmouth County sex crime lawyer from our office won’t be intimidated by this. Your attorney will help you determine what the maximum punishment for your charge is likely to be and what the prosecution will push for:
- Fourth-Degree Indictable Sex Offense – Up to eighteen months in prison, up to a $10,000 fine
- Third-Degree Indictable Sex Offense – Between three and five years in prison, up to a $15,000 fine
- Second-Degree Indictable Sex Offense – Between five and ten years in prison, up to a $150,000 fine
- First-Degree Indictable Sex Offense – Between ten and thirty years in prison or life, up to a $200,000 fine
In addition to imprisonment and a fine, a sex crime conviction will also mean having your name and information added to a public database known as the sex offender registry. Becoming a registered sex offender will mean dramatic consequences for your life and opportunities.
Under the federal law known as Megan’s Law, sex offenders are divided up into tiers that represent risk of repeat future offenses. In New Jersey, this will determine who must be notified of your sex offender status. The higher the number of your tier, the more people and organizations that will need to be informed.
Registering as a sex offender is something you’re required to do after serving your prison sentence. It’s important to note that failing to register is itself a fourth-degree indictable offense.
While the majority of the legal penalties that follow a sex crime conviction only last for a limited amount of time, the effects will follow you throughout your life. In particular, New Jersey is unlike other states in that sex offenders are required to register for life.
Having to inform everyone around you of your criminal history is not only embarrassing, it can prevent you from developing personal relationships and essentially make you a social outcast. Finding work will be incredibly difficult, and your housing options will be even more limited than other convicted felons, as you won’t be allowed near places like schools and day cares.
You don’t deserve this, which is why you must fight the charges against you. Our firm has experience handling cases involving charges of criminal sexual conduct, and we can help you build a defense that gives you the best chance of avoiding these harsh penalties and repercussions.
Few crimes are as overwhelming and stressful to be charged with as a sex offense. We’re here to answer any questions you may have and guide you through what’s ahead. You’ll find answers to a few common questions in the space below, and we’re always available to address any additional concerns.
Clark & Clark, LLC knows how to build the most compelling defense possible on behalf of our clients. Regardless of what sex offense you are charged with, we’ll never pre-judge you and never stop fighting on your behalf.
Explore your options with the help of an experienced Monmouth County sex crime lawyer. Simply schedule a free and confidential consultation by calling 732-303-7857 or by completing the form below.