Middlesex County Marijuana Possession Lawyer
Getting arrested for possessing marijuana is a frightening, stressful experience. It’s important to challenge the charges against you afterward, and a Middlesex County marijuana possession lawyer can help you do this.
While marijuana possession is legal for medicinal use with a prescription in New Jersey, recreational use is still illegal. Possession of even small amounts of weed can lead to harsh penalties and expensive fines—not to mention the formation of a permanent criminal record.
A conviction for marijuana possession isn’t inevitable, however. By working with a Middlesex County marijuana lawyer from Clark, Clark & Noonan, LLC., LLC, you can put yourself in the best position to successfully challenge your charges.
Marijuana Possession Laws in New Jersey
It doesn’t take much marijuana to result in a possession charge. In fact, a marijuana seed or stem is enough. Even the residue left on a pipe can get you charged. Even worse, this last example will also get you a possession of drug paraphernalia charge.
Possession of less than fifty grams of marijuana is a disorderly persons offense, which is roughly equivalent to a misdemeanor in other states. A conviction for this level of drug offense carries a fine of up to $1,000 and the possibility of up to six months in jail.
Possessing fifty grams or more of marijuana, however, becomes an indictable charge, which is the equivalent of a felony. These charges start as fourth degree, but if the quantity of marijuana is large enough, they can extend all the way to first degree.
Your Middlesex County marijuana possession lawyer will help you determine what penalty will apply to your case, but punishments for indictable offenses start at up to eighteen months in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. They only go up from there.
If You Were Driving
Even worse, if your marijuana arrest occurred while you were driving, you will also be charged with possession of drugs in a motor vehicle. This is a motor vehicle offense rather than a criminal charge, but the penalties are steep, nonetheless.
You can expect a license suspension of up to two years and will also likely receive a fine.
Defending Against a Marijuana Possession Charge
While popular culture doesn’t tend to view marijuana as a “hard” drug, the legal penalties for its possession don’t match that perception.
Aside from the possibility of a large fine and imprisonment, a criminal record is not something you want, making it essential to fight your charges and clear your name.
The defense that will be most compelling in your case will depend on a number of circumstances, but these are just a few of the possibilities:
- Unlawful Search and Seizure – The police might not have had a warrant or probable cause, making the search that discovered the marijuana inadmissible as evidence.
- The Marijuana Wasn’t Yours – This defense might be potent if the drugs were found in your proximity but not on your person.
- Medical Necessity – You might have forgotten your medical marijuana card at the time of your arrest, in which case it will be necessary to prove that you had an active prescription.
Connect with a Middlesex County Marijuana Lawyer
A marijuana possession arrest is a serious offense with equally serious consequences. Don’t take chances with your future. Instead let Clark, Clark & Noonan, LLC., LLC help you clear your name.
Arrange a free and confidential consultation with a Middlesex County marijuana possession lawyer by completing the form below or by calling 732-303-7857.