Penalties in New Jersey for Assault by Auto
Wall New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorneys serving Monmouth County, Ocean County, Middlesex County and all surrounding NJ areas.
Posted: February 1, 2017
New Jersey statute, 2C:12-C is the statute which governs assault by auto or vessel. Assault by auto or vessel occurs if an individual drives a vehicle or vessel recklessly and causes serious bodily injury to another person.
Assault by auto or vessel is a disorderly persons offense if bodily injury occurs. This means that a person convicted of assault by auto or vessel where bodily injury occurs will face up to 6 months in the county jail. If serious bodily injury occurs, the crime of assault by auto or vessel is a fourth-degree offense. If a person is convicted of a fourth-degree offense, that person may face up to 18 months in a New Jersey state prison.
If an individual commits an assault by auto or vessel by driving a vehicle while intoxicated as defined by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, the individual will be guilty of a third or fourth-degree crime. If the victim suffers bodily injury as a result of the aforementioned offense, the individual may face up to 18 months in prison. If the victim suffers significant bodily injury, the person will be guilty of a third-degree offense and may face between three to five years in a New Jersey state prison.
Assault by auto is a crime of the second degree if an individual commits assault by auto, while driving under the influence of alcohol, and does so while they are on school property or driving through a school crossing which is either designated by statute or is clearly a school crossing because of the presence of juveniles.
An individual who is convicted of second-degree assault by auto will face between 5 and 10 years in a New Jersey state prison. It should be noted that if a person is convicted of second-degree assault by auto, there will be a presumption of imprisonment upon conviction.
Our New Jersey criminal defense lawyers represent individuals charged with assault by auto or vessel in all New Jersey counties including the counties of Hudson and Monmouth counties. If you hire Clark, Clark & Noonan, LLC to represent you in your assault by auto or vessel case, our attorneys will investigate the accident and prepare an aggressive and thorough defense.
If you or someone you know has been charged with assault by auto or vessel, call our law firm in New Jersey at 732-303-7857 or fill out the form located on this page. One of our attorneys will get back to you as soon as possible. We represent individuals in all New Jersey cities including the cities of Freehold and Jersey City.
We Can Help 24/7
Free case review. Call 732-303-7857 or send us a message now.