Author Michael Noonan
Posted June 16, 2017
Category Traffic Offenses in New Jersey
Wall New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorneys serving Monmouth County, Ocean County, Middlesex County and all surrounding NJ areas.
Posted: February 6, 2015
Municipal Court Traffic Violations Defense Attorneys
Serving Monmouth, Mercer, Middlesex and Ocean Counties. It is against the law in New Jersey to leave the scene of a motor vehicle accident. If convicted, you could be facing serious penalties including jail time, loss of driving privileges, and a fine of up to $5,000. If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident, call our law offices immediately for experienced and aggressive legal representation. Our lawyers are former prosecutors; we know the “ins and outs” of municipal court and traffic violations from both the prosecutorial and defense side.
When you put our experience to work for you, we will only serve your best interest — our attorneys will carefully review your case to uncover all the facts, and listen your side of the story. We may be able to have charges dismissed or reduced, and we won’t use scare tactics to try and convince to do something not in your best interest. Our lawyers will tell you truthfully about the possible outcomes and penalties you are facing and help guide you in making the right decision.
All drivers involved in motor vehicle accidents, including cars, trucks, vans, and motorcycles, are required to stop at the scene, or as close as reasonable possible.
If damage to property, or injury or death results from the accident, drivers are also required to:
- Identify Themselves. Give his/her name and address and exhibit his/her operators license and registration certificate of his vehicle to the person injured or whose vehicle or property was damaged and to any police officer or witness of the accident, and to the driver or occupants of the vehicle collided with and render to a person injured in the accident reasonable assistance, including the carrying of that person to a hospital or a physician for medical or surgical treatment, if it is apparent that the treatment is necessary or is requested by the injured person.
- File a Report. In the event that none of the persons specified above are in condition to receive the information, and no police officer is present, the driver of any vehicle involved in an accident is required to immediately report the accident to the nearest office of the local police department or of the county police of the county or of the State Police and provide the information required by law.
Possible Penalties and Fines if Convicted For Failing to Stop / Leaving the Scene of an Accident
- Minimum fine of $2,500 up to a maximum fine of $5,000; and/or
- May be be imprisoned for a period of 180 days. The term of imprisonment required by this subsection shall be imposed only if the accident resulted in death or injury to a person other than the driver convicted of violating this section.
- In addition, any person convicted under this subsection shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of one year from the date of his conviction for the first offense and for a subsequent offense shall thereafter permanently forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State.
Contact One of Our Traffic Violations Attorneys For The Help You Need
If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident, you need an experienced attorney to represent your best interests. The law firm of Clark, Clark & Noonan, LLC has the skills and experience to assess your case, cross-examine the charging police officer at trial if necessary, and advise you on a course of action that is best for you. Whether we are negotiating with the Prosecutor or defending your legal rights at a trial, we understand the system and how to make it best work for you.
If you have been charged with any New Jersey traffic violation, or related offense such as driving while intoxicated, contact the legal defense law firm of Clark, Clark & Noonan, LLC immediately at (877) 290-3867 to arranged for your free, initial consultation.
We Can Help 24/7
Free case review. Call 732-303-7857 or send us a message now.