Theft Crimes Criminal Defense Lawyer, Freehold, Monmouth, Camden County
Criminal Penalties for Theft Crimes in New Jersey
In New Jersey, the penalties for most theft crimes are related to the value of the property involved in the crime.
Disorderly Persons Offense. If the property value is less than $200 you can be fined up to $1,000 and sentenced to up to 6 months of imprisonment.
4th Degree Offense. If the property value is between $200 and $500 you can be fined up to $10,000 and be sentenced for up to 18 months of imprisonment.
3rd Degree Offense. If the property value is over $500 but less than &75,000 you can be fined up to $15,000 and sentenced for 3-5 years of imprisonment.
2nd Degree Offense. If the property value is $75,000 or more, you can be fined up to $150,000 and sentenced to 5-10 years of imprisonment.
You can learn more about specific property and theft crimes by visiting the following New Jersey law practice pages:
- Armed Robbery and Robbery, Weapons Charges
- Credit Card Theft / Fraud
- Criminal Mischief
- Fraud and White Collar Crimes
- Receiving Stolen Property
- Theft Crimes
- Theft by Deception
- Theft of Services
We also represent defendants in cases of embezzlement, cyber crimes, identity theft, check forgery, employee pilfering, and auto theft charges.
Contact our New Jersey criminal defense law firm today to arrange a free consultation. You can call us 732-303-7857 — 24/7 and we will meet at a time and location most convenient to you, including the police station. From our offices in Freehold, our burglary defense lawyers represent clients throughout eastern New Jersey.